Under the reign of Louis XIV as the Hotel des Invalides was built between 1671 and 1676. Once completed, it will host more than 6,000 war invalids.
The equestrian statue of Louis XIV is at the center of the facade. The entrance to the church in St. Louis which are exposed many old guns is by one of the pavilions of the central courtyard.
It is also at the Hotel des Invalides is that the Army Museum, consisting of one of the largest collections of military objects in the world. The collection ranges from prehistoric weapons to weapons of the twentieth century through the medieval weapons, weapons of the former regime and those of revolution and empire.
« charming 3 stars boutique hotel in city centre Saint Germain des Pres near Orsay Museum, Quartier Latin, Louvre, … »
This entry was posted on Mardi, juin 8th, 2010 at 3:30
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Tags: 3 stars hotel in paris, 3 stars hotel in saint germain, assemblee nationale paris, charming hotel in paris, hotel paris 7, hotel saint germain des pres, hotel universite paris, invalides paris, monuments in paris, museum paris
Posted in: Surroundings